music

Robert Fripp and Toyah Perform The Prodigy’s “Firestarter” and It “Cannot Be Unseen”: Watch

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-09T14:31:29+00:00“>May 9, 2021 | 10:31am ET Even Toyah Willcox and Robert Fripp warn you that that their latest “Sunday Lunch” performance “cannot be unseen,” as everyone’s favorite rock couple take on The Prodigy’s hit “Firestarter”. And they’re not kidding around — this one will be burned in your memory for a while. This video starts out with a warning: “You are about to see our favorite kitchen trio as you have never seen them before and it cannot be unseen.” Once again joined by mystery guitarist “Sidney Jake”, Toyah and Robert pay homage not only to the electro-rock anthem but also to The Prodigy’s look, particularly that of the band’s late singer Keith Flint (a sign wi...

Foo Fighters Perform AC/DC’s “Back in Black” with Brian Johnson at VAX Live Concert: Watch

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-09T02:27:13+00:00“>May 8, 2021 | 10:27pm ET A star-studded lineup featuring Eddie Vedder, Foo Fighters, Jennifer Lopez, J Balvin, and H.E.R. performed at “VAX Live: The Concert to Reunite the World”. The concert was pre-taped a week in advance at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California, but was presented as a television broadcast and as an extended 90-minute YouTube stream. One of the biggest highlights was Foo Fighters’ surprise performance of “Back in Black” with AC/DC’s Brian Johnson. The AC/DC frontman has made only occasional on-stage appearances since hearing issues temporarily forced his departure from music in 2016, but he was in fine form for his live collaboration with Fo...

Miley Cyrus Covers Dolly Parton’s “Light Of A Clear Blue Morning” on SNL: Watch

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-09T05:15:59+00:00“>May 9, 2021 | 1:15am ET Miley Cyrus made her seventh (!) appearance on Saturday Night Live as the musical guest on this weekend’s episode hosted by Elon Musk. Cyrus’ presence was felt from the very onset, as she soundtracked a Mother’s Day-themed cold opening. As various SNL cast members appeared alongside their mothers, Cyrus sang “Light Of A Clear Blue Morning”, a song by her own god mother, Dolly Parton. Later in the episode, she teamed with The Kid Laori for the live debut of her remix of “Without You”, and performed the title track to her latest album, Plastic Hearts. Replay all of the performances below. Related Video Saturday Night Live will close o...

Perry Farrell Announces New Song “MEND” with Kind Heaven Orchestra

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-08T23:44:57+00:00“>May 8, 2021 | 7:44pm ET Alternative rock veteran Perry Farrell has announced a new song “MEND” with his Kind Heaven Orchestra project. After nearly 40 years playing with Jane’s Addiciton and Pornos for Pyros, Farrell formed the Kind Heaven Orchestra with his wife and collaborator Etty Lau Farrell for the 2019 album Kind Heaven. The band was set to embark on a 2020 tour complete with a nine-piece band that was canceled due to COVID, but the legendary frontman made use of the time off to gather some of his musical peers for a new single due out on May 21st. “MEND” was written by Foo Fighters’ Taylor Hawkins, who also plays on the track alongside  E...

Song of the Week: HEALTH and Nine Inch Nails Bring ’90s Apocalypse Vibes with “ISN’T EVERYONE”

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-08T15:11:59+00:00“>May 8, 2021 | 11:11am ET Song of the Week breaks down and talks about the song we just can’t get out of our head ever week. Find these songs and more on our Spotify Top Songs playlist. For our favorite new songs from emerging artists, check out our Spotify New Sounds playlist. This week, noise rockers HEALTH and industrial icons Nine Inch Nails are a match made in end-of-days heaven. Catharsis can take many curious forms: a good cry after a film, the euphoria among strangers dancing to an electric piece of pop, a long run (allegedly). Then, there’s HEALTH and Nine Inch Nails, two groups that have long harnessed the power of noise as their tool of choice, active...

REI AMI Shares New Song “F.R.A.”: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-08T14:24:00+00:00“>May 8, 2021 | 10:24am ET If you don’t know who REI AMI is yet, let her new track “F.R.A.” be your introduction. She doesn’t mince words or pretend to be anyone else on the song — as she sings, she’s “fucking REI AMI.” Born in South Korea and raised in Maryland, the alt-pop singer/songwriter makes genre-blending pop music with booming beats and hip-hop swagger. Her past releases have gained the support of major pop players including Billie Eilish, FINNEAS, and Aminé — the latter of which previously collaborated with REI AMI on her song “do it right”. “F.R.A.” is the latest track off of her debut mixtape due out this summer. Co-written by Christian Blue and co-pr...

R.I.P. Tawny Kitaen, Whitesnake’s “Here I Go Again” Video Vixen Dead at 59

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-08T14:53:16+00:00“>May 8, 2021 | 10:53am ET Julie E. “Tawny” Kitaen, former actress and muse for the ’80s hard rock band Whitesnake, has died at the age of 59. The San Diego native passed away Friday (May 7th) at her home in Newport Beach, California, according to Variety. A cause of death has not yet been disclosed. Kitaen played the bride-to-be of Tom Hans’ character in the 1984 film Bachelor Party. She also had a reoccurring role on the early ’90s sitcom The New WKRP in Cincinnati, and played Jerry’s girlfriend in Seinfeld’s classic 1991 episode, “The Nose Job”. Related Video But Kitaen is undoubtedly most synomonymous with Whitesnake, having appeared in several of the band’s ...

Squid Release Debut Album Bright Green Field: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-07T16:39:22+00:00“>May 7, 2021 | 12:39pm ET Brighton post-punk group Squid have just released their debut album, Bright Green Field. Stream it below via Apple Music and Spotify. Bright Green Field spans 11 tracks in total, including the previously released singles “Paddling” and “Narrator”. Squid went all in when creating the record, which can be heard in the 30-person choir, the horn and string ensemble, and their strange use of field recordings of bees. Props to producer Dan Carey (black midi, Bat For Lashes, Hot Chip) for making it all work together in a way that’s not too far off from LCD Soundsystem’s weirder moments. Back in March, we caught up with the five-piece band abou...

L’Orange and Namir Blade Uncork New Album Imaginary Everything: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-07T16:44:03+00:00“>May 7, 2021 | 12:44pm ET Producer L’Orange and Nashville MC Namir Blade have uncorked their new collaborative album Imaginary Everything. Stream it below with Apple Music or Spotify. Blade broke out last year with Aphelion’s Traveling Circus, while L’Orange has been bubbling just below mainstream success for close to a decade. For Imaginary Everything, the Mello Music Group labelmates acquired guest verses from Quelle Chris, Fly Anakin, Jordan Webb, and Marlowe, with L’Orange producing every track. In an interview with Consequence, L’Orange explained how he achieved the soundscapes on Imaginary Everything using an Akai MPC. “T...

TEKE::TEKE Share New Album Shirushi: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-07T17:45:13+00:00“>May 7, 2021 | 1:45pm ET Montreal-based septet TEKE::TEKE have released their debut album, Shirushi. Stream it via Apple Music or Spotify below. TEKE::TEKE named themselves after a Japanese slang term for those into surf culture, which is an onomatopoeia that’s meant to sound like a surf guitar riff. Their sound is inspired by 1960s and 1970s era psychedelic Japanese soundtracks while mixing in modern punk influences. The nine-track Shirushi (or “signs of great changes to come”) covers themes of identity, spirituality, rebirth, and self-exploration, featuring supernatural storytelling across its lyrics. Related Video In the case of “Barbara”, which we named Song...

FBI Makes Previously Classified Kurt Cobain File Public

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-07T17:51:10+00:00“>May 7, 2021 | 1:51pm ET Twenty-seven years after Kurt Cobain‘s death, the FBI has just publicized a previously classified file on the late Nirvana frontman. The crux of the file revolves around two letters that ask the agency to investigate whether the iconic singer was murdered, as well as a fax that was sent to the production company behind Unsolved Mysteries. Cobain’s official cause of death is suicide by a self-inflicted gunshot wound on April 5th, 1994. However, over the years there have been a ton of conspiracy theories, many suggesting that the grunge legend was murdered. As seen in the actual FBI file, the names of the senders have been redacted, but on...

Los Campesinos! Surprise Release New EP Whole Damn Body: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-07T18:07:09+00:00“>May 7, 2021 | 2:07pm ET The 10th anniversary of Los Campesinos!’s underrated 2011 album Hello Sadness is quickly approaching later this November. However, that won’t stop the cult-favorite UK indie rockers from celebrating a little early, as they just released a new EP of songs from that era. It’s called Whole Damn Body and it’s available to stream exclusively through Bandcamp below. This new EP boasts seven songs that were written and recorded either immediately before, during, or after the recording of Hello Sadness. Originally, six of the seven songs on the EP were available via Heat Rash, the 7-inch zine subscription series the band ran around the time of t...