Heavy Music News

Louder Than Life 2021 Lineup: Metallica, Nine Inch Nails, Korn, Jane’s Addiction, Judas Priest, and More

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-14T16:09:49+00:00“>May 14, 2021 | 12:09pm ET The lineup for the 2021 Louder Than Life Festival has been announced, and it features a stacked lineup that includes headliners Metallica, Nine Inch Nails, and Korn, along with Jane’s Addiction, Judas Priest, Snoop Dogg, Mudvayne, and many more bands. The lineup is arguably Louder Than Life’s strongest yet, perhaps making up for the fact that promoter Danny Wimmer Presents had to postpone last year’s fest due to the pandemic. Taking place September 23rd-26th in Louisville, Kentucky, the event will feature Metallica headlining two nights (Friday and Sunday) with Korn topping the bill on Thursday and Nine Inch Nails closing out the eveni...

Riot Fest 2021 Lineup: Nine Inch Nails, Smashing Pumpkins, Faith No More, Pixies, DEVO, and More

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-14T17:39:00+00:00“>May 14, 2021 | 1:39pm ET Chicago’s annual Riot Fest has unveiled its updated 2021 lineup, with an impressive list of bands that includes headliners Nine Inch Nails, The Smashing Pumpkins, and Run the Jewels, along with such acts as Faith No More, Pixies, DEVO, and many more. The four-day event takes place September 16th-19th at the Windy City’s Douglass Park. The main event takes place Friday through Saturday (September 17-19th), with a preview party on Thursday (September 16th). Joining the aforementioned bands on the bill are Coheed and Cambria, Taking Back Sunday, GWAR, Dirty Heads, Sublime with Rome, Lupe Fiasco (performing The Cool), Vic Mensa, NOFX, Circl...

Slipknot’s Corey Taylor Shares Cover of CSNY’s “Carry On”: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-14T18:25:37+00:00“>May 14, 2021 | 2:25pm ET Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor has shared a soulful cover of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young’s “Carry On” via the Amazon Original singles series. Taylor offers a powerful rendition of the classic Déjà Vu opener, and his vocals are ideal for the intense harmonies of CSNY. The iconic folk-rock supergroup were a major influence on the singer, who recalls hearing the band’s songs in his youth. “Growing up, the harmonies of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young always captivated me,” Taylor said in a press release. “What they could do felt more like superpowers than music. Showing them appreciation is just my way of thanking them for inspiring m...

Mötley Crüe and Def Leppard Reschedule Tour for 2022

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-14T20:28:39+00:00“>May 14, 2021 | 4:28pm ET Mötley Crüe’s reunion tour will have to wait another year, as their co-headlining stadium outing with Def Leppard has been pushed to 2022. Originally scheduled support acts Poison and Joan Jett and The Blackhearts will still be along for the ride. After signing an agreement that they would never tour again following the end of their farewell tour in 2015, Mötley Crüe dramatically blew up the legal paperwork in announcing their return in November 2019. The band then announced a 2020 summer stadium tour with Def Leppard, only to postpone it to 2021 due to the pandemic. Now, they’re pushing the tour to 2022. The newly announced tour dates ...

Cheap Trick At Budokan: Corey Taylor, Linda Perry, Butch Walker and Producer Jack Douglas Discuss Iconic Album

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-13T19:45:35+00:00“>May 13, 2021 | 3:45pm ET It’s not very often that a legendary band’s discography is highlighted by a live release, but in the case of Cheap Trick, it just so happens that the live album in question is one of rock’s greatest recordings. Cheap Trick At Budokan put the band from Rockford, Illinois, on the international map and established them as a major force in the music industry. To celebrate At Budokan, Consequence gathered four esteemed musicians and producers via Zoom for a virtual round-table discussion on the album and Cheap Trick’s legacy. Along for the ride are Slipknot singer and solo artist Corey Taylor; songwriter, producer, and onetime 4 Non Blondes ...

Gene Simmons Rips “Disgusting” Rock & Roll Hall of Fame for Not Inducting Iron Maiden and Rage Against the Machine

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-13T20:51:28+00:00“>May 13, 2021 | 4:51pm ET On Wednesday, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame revealed its Class of 2021, including Foo Fighters, Tina Turner, JAY-Z, Todd Rundgren, The Go-Go’s, and Carole King. Among the finalists who didn’t make the cut were Iron Maiden and Rage Against the Machine, leading Gene Simmons to call the institution “disgusting.” Back in 2018, Iron Maiden singer Bruce Dickinson declared he and the band would refuse induction, saying the Rock Hall is “run by a bunch of sanctimonious bloody Americans who wouldn’t know rock ‘n’ roll if it hit them in the face.” RATM, meanwhile, are likely more focused on current political events than any musical honors. Tha...

The Offspring Unveil “We Never Have Sex Anymore” Video Starring John Stamos: Watch

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-13T16:48:38+00:00“>May 13, 2021 | 12:48pm ET The Offspring have shared the music video for their song “We Never Have Sex Anymore”. The humorous clip stars Full House actor John Stamos alongside chimpanzees that literally reenact the song’s lyrics. The track hails from the punk-rock veterans’ latest album, Let the Bad Times Roll, and tells the tale of an aging couple who’ve lost the spark. In the video, the couple’s played by two chimpanzees with extraordinary acting abilities. The husband chimp, dressed in a shirt and tie, comes home to his wife from work, but his sexual advances are rebuffed. When the wife chimp, donning a nightgown, tries to move in later in the evening, she’s ...

KK’s Priest (Ex-Judas Priest Members KK Downing, Tim “Ripper” Owens) Announce Debut Album, Unleash “Hellfire Thunderbolt”: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-12T15:51:44+00:00“>May 12, 2021 | 11:51am ET KK’s Priest, the new group featuring ex-Judas Priest members KK Downing and Tim “Ripper” Owens, have announced their debut LP, Sermons of the Sinner. The band has also shared the lead single, “Hellfire Thunderbolt”. Considering the pedigree of the musicians involved, the new song is a slab of classic heavy metal worthy of the “Priest” nomenclature. Downing’s fierce guitarwork and Tim the Ripper’s vocals are right out front, with the remaining complex instrumental parts being played by bassist Tony Newton, guitarist A.J. Mills, and drummer Sean Elg. KK’s Priest is an update of sorts on the Ripper-era of Judas Priest. Owens fronted the U...

7Seconds’ Seminal Hardcore Punk Album The Crew to Receive Deluxe Reissue

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-12T17:02:43+00:00“>May 12, 2021 | 1:02pm ET Hardcore punk band 7Seconds’ 1984 debut album The Crew is receiving a deluxe reissue via Trust Records and BYO Records. The LP is being repressed on vinyl and will available on digital platforms for the first time on June 25th. As the brevity in their name happens to imply, 7Seconds rip through 18 songs in 20 minutes, pioneering the melodic hardcore style on their debut full-length. The Reno punk act can be seen as a precursor to groups like the Gorilla Biscuits, promoting a positive lyrical message and communal camaraderie, as seen on the album cover for The Crew. The deluxe edition features remastered audio from the original analog ta...

Adult Swim Bringing Back Metalocalypse With Feature-Length Movie

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-12T19:11:57+00:00“>May 12, 2021 | 3:11pm ET After a long hiatus, animated metal band Dethklok will finally return. Adult Swim announced that it has greenlit an original film for Metalocalypse, as well as movies for Aqua Teen Hunger Force, and The Venture Bros. It’s a cause for celebration for devout Metalocalpyse fans. Despite a loyal cult following, the show was unceremoniously canceled by Adult Swim back in 2013. The series followed the comedic exploits of the fictional extreme metal band Dethklok and its eccentric members: Nathan Explosion, Skwisgaar Skwigelf, Pickles, William Murderface, and Toki Wartooth. The Metalocalpyse movie will be helmed by show creators Brendon Small ...

Mastodon Unleash New Song “Forged by Neron” from Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-12T13:11:12+00:00“>May 12, 2021 | 9:11am ET Surprise! Mastodon have unveiled the brand new song “Forged by Neron” as the leadoff track from the upcoming Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack. The multi-artist album accompanies a new run of variant issues of the popular DC Comics’ series. Mastodon are expected to release their highly anticipated follow-up to 2017’s Emperor of Sand this year, but in the meantime, they’ve offered up the “Forged by Neron”, specifically written for the Dark Nights: Death Metal soundtrack. Neron is a demon from hell who appears throughout the comic-book series. “We are super excited and honored to be part of the Dark Nights: Death Metal Soundtrack! ,” sa...

Former Styx Singer Dennis DeYoung Teams Up with Tom Morello for New Song “The Last Guitar Hero”: Stream

<span class="localtime" data-ltformat="F j, Y | g:ia" data-lttime="2021-05-11T21:00:01+00:00“>May 11, 2021 | 5:00pm ET Former Styx singer Dennis DeYoung has joined forces with Rage Against the Machine guitarist Tom Morello for a new song called “The Last Guitar Hero”. The track will appear on DeYoung’s final studio album, 26 East, Vol. 2, which arrives June 11th. While Styx certainly made their mark as a hard-rocking band, DeYoung is also known for his ballads like “Babe” and “Lady”, making his collaboration with Morello a bit of an unlikely partnership. “The Last Guitar Hero” has a throwback Styx sound with a blistering solo from Morello at the 2:30 mark. The song is the second single from DeYoung’s forthcoming album, following last month’s release of ...